Skip to content

Gold and economy

Forever’s economy is vanilla’s with three changes that matter to a casual guild: there is no WoW Token and no boost, GDKP is banned, and mounts cost the same total gold but the money moves into training with the mount free. Add one mega-realm per ruleset per region, and week one will be a single Alliance and a single Horde auction house with hundreds of thousands of players undercutting each other. This page is what to sell, what to farm, and how the guild handles gold and the new Merchant’s Favor currency.

Topic Quote or fact Who Evidence
Token and boosts “No plans for anything like a WoW Token or a boost.” “The Journey is the game.” Clay Stone, Associate Production Director verified
GDKP GDKP “has a tendency … to reach a level of ubiquity that it can overtake the traditional guild structure,” and is “a really big barrier to entry for new players.” Wowhead: “GDKP will not be allowed in WoW: Forever.” Josh Greenfield, Senior Game Designer verified
Gold buying “We’re going to very aggressively punish gold buyers.” “We’ve probably been too lenient on gold buyers.” “It’s not worth losing any of your accounts permanently.” Greenfield verified
Economy levers Blizzard will monitor “very actively” with “levers we can pull and knobs we can turn” on drop and consumable availability Greenfield verified
Mounts “The gold cost is in the training, which costs 100 or 1,000 gold depending on the level, and then players will get their first mount for free.” “Having an aspirational goal for your money is good.” Michael Nuthals and Kris Zierhut verified

How the GDKP ban is enforced (report tool, chat detection, loot-trade detection) is not stated. unverified “GDKP” is a raid where loot is auctioned for gold and the pot is split; the guild’s own rules are on Loot rules.

Vanilla (1.12) Forever
First riding Level 40: 20g training + 80g mount = 100g 100g training, mount free. verified quote. Level 40 inferred from beta Skyborne racial mount unlocks unverified
Epic riding Level 60: 100g training + 900g mount = 1,000g 1,000g training, mount free. Level 60 inferred
Discounts 10% at Honored with the mount’s race, 10% at PvP rank 3 Not confirmed either way. Legacy Bartering is 5 to 10% off vendor items; whether riding trainers count is unknown
Paladin / Warlock Free class mount quests at 40 and 60 Unchanged as far as known; Forsaken Paladins get their own level 60 mount quest verified
Alliance Kodo n/a Reins of the Pack Kodo, 6,000 Merchant’s Favor from the Azeroth Commerce Authority; still needs riding training verified
Flying None None

Net effect: same total gold as vanilla, no more “trained riding but cannot afford the mount” limbo, and paid cosmetic mounts from the Skyborne packs give no head start (“they still need to buy their training,” unverified). Mounts live in a mounts window and use no bag slot. verified

Budget guidance: 100g by 40 is achievable from questing alone if you do not buy AH gear; vanilla players typically had 60 to 120g at 40. 1,000g at 60 is 2 to 4 weeks of an hour a day of gathering or dungeon BoE sales at vanilla rates. vanilla baseline

Structure: one mega-realm per ruleset per region, factions fully separate, so each ruleset has one Alliance AH and one Horde AH per region, with the neutral Booty Bay / Gadgetzan / Everlook AH presumably bridging at the usual 15% cut. vanilla baseline; no Blizzard AH statement exists. What a single AH of hundreds of thousands of players means:

  • Prices converge fast and undercutting is brutal. Margins on crafted goods will be thin within days. Raw materials keep value longest because roughly 900 new recipes all want mats. verified, marked speculation by its own source.
  • Bots: Blizzard says it will punish buyers hard; whether farmers are caught faster is unknown. Expect Black Lotus style contested nodes to be bot-contested regardless.
  • No GDKP means late-game gold has fewer sinks than Classic Era: riding, talent respecs (1g then 5g observed at level 20 in beta), Legacy respec at 10g per point, enchants, consumables. Merchant’s Favor is not gold. Consumable prices should stay lower than Era’s inflated economy, which is good for a casual guild.

vanilla baseline adjusted for Forever:

  1. Bags. Tailors making 6-slot Linen and 8-slot Woolen Bags will sell every one. Starter quests give a 6-slot bag now, so demand shifts to 8 and 10 slots faster. Wool is the Tailoring chokepoint (807 needed to 225), so Wool Cloth itself sells. See Tailoring.
  2. Copper Bars, Tin, Bronze Bars, Light Leather, Linen and Wool. Every crafter is leveling at once.
  3. Healing potions from First Aid. Nobody thinks of First Aid as a money maker, and everyone at level 20 wants Lesser Healing Potions. See First Aid.
  4. Remote-vendor manuals (Expert First Aid and the Heavy Silk / Mageweave manuals from Deneb Walker or Balai Lok’Wein, the Expert Fishing book from Old Man Heming) listed at a markup for people who will not travel.
  5. Green BoEs for twinks.
  6. Camp objects. Each craft yields two, they are tradeable, and non-crafters cannot place them but can hand them to a friend with the skill. Low value, but Camp Chairs and Fish Bowls at a dungeon stone trade for tips.

Mild and Hot Spices and Empty / Leaded Vials are vendor items, so no markup is possible beyond convenience listings.

Crafted grey and white leveling armor, most crafted greens before 40 (quest greens are equal), and anything a Merchant’s Favor vendor sells for Favor, since gold cannot buy Favor.

vanilla baseline unless tagged.

Level Farm Where
10 to 15 Linen Westfall Defias
15 to 25 Wool Duskwood, Barrens humanoids, Silverpine
25 to 40 Silk Hillsbrad, Stranglethorn
40 to 50 Mageweave Tanaris, Searing Gorge
55 to 60 Runecloth Eastern and Western Plaguelands
55 to 60 Rugged Leather, Thorium Winterspring, Azshara
55 to 60 Blueprints Blackmaw Hold and Shaper’s Terrace, if the boost-site claim holds and Blueprints are BoE unverified

A boost-site guide claims “80-150g/hour at level 20.” That is implausible for launch; boost sites sell gold and inflate numbers. unverified Forever’s new zones (Riverglades, Mount Hyjal, Zephras Isle) and new dungeons have no farming data yet.

  • Auctionator carries a Forever flavor on CurseForge; TradeSkillMaster does not. Use Auctionator’s shopping lists for the guild’s mat needs. See Addons.
  • Post mats in the stack sizes crafters use: 20s for cloth, 10s or 20s for bars, 5s for herbs that go in 2s and 3s in the new elixirs.
  • Undercut by 1 copper, post 12-hour auctions at night before raid nights, and stop flipping: “a cheap listing is not automatically a profitable flip, with beta prices not being reliable for launch-week market values.” verified
  • Do not buy gear off the AH before 40 except a weapon. A self-crafted blue set at 50 “keeps 50-80 gold in their pocket.” unverified number, right direction.
Item Forever Evidence
Personal bank 48 slots, doubled from 24 verified
Bank bag slots 8, up from 6. Prices not published; vanilla was 10s, 1g, 10g, 25g, 25g, 25g for six verified for the count, vanilla baseline for prices
Character bag slots 4 plus a fifth Reagent Bag slot for reagents and crafting materials verified
Bag sizes “Start at their original sizes”; Blizzard will not raise base bag space “until players demonstrate need” verified
Starter bags Level 3 to 4 quests in each starting zone reward a 6-slot bag verified
Mounts and transmog Mounts window and an appearance collection, so neither uses bag space verified
Guild bank Community figures (MrGM, NoHitJerome) say “in at launch.” No Blizzard post says it. Tab pricing unknown unverified

The plan: a level 1 character parked at the capital AH with the 48-slot bank and 8 bank bag slots, roughly 48 + 8 x 16 = 176 slots once you can afford eight 16-slot bags, plus the reagent bag. Mail from mains costs 30 copper postage. Reserve the name during the Oct 27 to Nov 3 window (three names per account) and use the two-part name to mark it as the guild’s. See Launch timeline. Treat the guild bank as a bonus if it exists.

Forever adds one new profession faction per side: the Azeroth Commerce Authority (Alliance) and Durotar Supply and Logistics (Horde). verified

  • Earn. Fill Waylaid Supply Crates found on enemies and in chests (“chests are the most reliable source of better crates”). Crates ask for gathered or crafted bundles by rank, Apprentice to Artisan, for example “Waylaid Crate: Apprentice Textiles.” Hand in at Three Corners, Redridge (Marcy Baker, /way 9.6 70.9) or outside the Crossroads, Barrens (/way 42 34). Craftsman’s Writs also give reputation; little is known about them. verified
  • Currency. Merchant’s Favor, spent only at these camps. Honored unlocks mounts, Exalted the tabard. Whether recipe vendors are gated by standing or only by Favor is not stated. unverified
  • Sells. About 316 recipes across seven trades at 30 to 1,000 Favor each: Enchanting neck enchants and relics; Alchemy elixirs (45 to 240); Engineering schematics (45 to 1,000); Blacksmithing; Cooking smoothies (30 to 90); Tailoring colored sets, Flame Boots and Shadow Gown and bags; Leatherworking hoods and helms (30); the six 1,000-Favor Certification title items; Reins of the Pack Kodo at 6,000; toys. verified
  • Legacy. Performance Bonus (Professions tree) gives a 5 to 15% chance of double Favor on a hand-in; Diplomat (Resourcefulness) +2 to 10% reputation. See Legacy.
  • This is Season of Discovery’s Waylaid Supplies system brought over. unverified The shape: crates are common, filling them costs mats you would otherwise sell, and the good stuff is thousands of Favor deep.

Guild rule: crates you cannot fill go to the guild’s designated crafter of that trade, not to the AH. The neck enchants, relics, titles and Pack Kodo all sit behind Favor and gold cannot buy it.

Retained in the database. Rewards assumed vanilla until someone screenshots a vendor. vanilla baseline

Faction How Profession rewards (vanilla)
Thorium Brotherhood Dark Iron Ore and Residue, Incendosaur Scales, Core Leather, cores, Blood of the Mountain turn-ins Fire Resistance sets: Dark Iron plate and weapons (Black Anvil in BRD), Corehound Boots and Lava / Molten Belts, Flarecore set, Enchant Weapon Mighty Intellect at Revered
Timbermaw Hold Deadwood and Winterfall turn-ins in Felwood and Winterspring Warbear Harness and Woolies, Might of the Timbermaw, Enchant Weapon Agility at Revered, Heavy Timbermaw Belt and Boots, Wisdom and Mantle of the Timbermaw
Argent Dawn Scourgestones, Plaguelands quests, Strat and Scholo Girdle and Gloves of the Dawn, Dawn Treaders and Golden Mantle of the Dawn, Argent Boots and Shoulders, Enchant Bracer Mana Regeneration (Revered) and Healing Power (Exalted)
Cenarion Circle Silithus quests, Twilight Texts Nature Resistance crafts, only if Silithus content is in the launch state unverified
Shen’dralar Dire Maul librams Arcanum enchants; “a new Shen’dralas zone creates uncertainty”
Zandalar Tribe Zul’Gurub Not in the launch raid list; the data exists in the client
Battleground factions (4) WSG, AB, AV and a fourth Exalted with each is a Legacy challenge; no profession recipes in vanilla
  • Riding levels (40 / 60 inferred) and whether reputation and PvP rank discounts survive.
  • Guild bank existence and tab pricing.
  • Auction house cut, deposit, neutral AH, and cross-ruleset isolation.
  • GDKP enforcement mechanics.
  • Merchant’s Favor gating by standing, Favor caps, crate drop rates, whether Favor is account-wide.
  • Bank bag slot prices.
  • Farming data for the new zones and dungeons; Blueprint BoE status.
  • Vanilla reputation vendor standing requirements and inventories.